top of page

Tech Project Updates #4

Soldering the piezos to the rainbow wire


Having already made the jumper wires, it's now time to solder the ends of the jumper wires to the piezos. I used this source - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zu3TYBs65FM&t=159s - to gain some insight into soldering techniques.


After successfully soldering the piezos of my first drum kit, it was time to complete the soldering for my second drum kit. Having already used the soldering iron for the first kit, it became heavily oxidised as a result of previous use. However, without initially realising it, this was the reason why the solder wan't able to melt and I found that when the solder did melt, it quickly become a solid again meaning that I wasn't able to complete the job properly. (Below - image 1 and 5) the piece of soldering became a solid and I had to cut the piece off from the piezo.


So, after doing a bit of research into it, I can across this source - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LjonpfTIzg0 - which solved the issue of the oxidised soldering iron, enabling me to complete my task!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

PoL

bottom of page