top of page

Composition reflection #3

Updated: Nov 18, 2019

More variations and adding some chromaticism


Now that I've composed 2 variations, I'd like to think about how I can extend each variation as I feel they can be longer. Taking inspiration from Llobet's Variations on a Theme by Sor, I will repeat each variation, however adding subtle changes when it repeats. (N.B. I later realised I won't have enough time to do this as the composition can't be longer than 3 minutes!)


chromatic section in model piece (as analysed in other blog post):


Annotated draft recording of variation 3 which leads into the chromatic section... (draft of chromatic section using diminished 7th chords, as moveable chromatic chords)


The piece 'Pulo do gato' features a chromatic section of mainly broken chords which descend by a semitone and then ascend by three semitones.


Here is an analysis of the chromatic/improvisation section in Pulo do gato. This section is improvisatory in nature, as the music inside the boxes are aleatory repeatable, transposable and interchangeable among other boxes, a common feature of Choro composition.


Variation number 3 (modulates from E major to E minor)

Here is my draft for my idea of changing tonality from major to minor (also manipulating tone colour through articulation - ponticello slurs as outlined in my 'baby steps')



(Above recording)


I took the E F# G# A B C# and D# of E major and changed the tonality to E minor, so that there is a direct contrast in the change of mood. I also maintained the descending nature of the melodic contour of the previous variation(s) and utilised slurs (in the form of hammer ons and pull offs) which is an idiomatic feature of classical guitar composition. Subtle variations are also a feature of my model piece, Pulo do gato.


Draft outline of piece:



To reiterate: Having realised that 2-3 minutes is not a substantial amount of time to circulate many ideas effectively, I've decided not to repeat each variation as this will enable me to have more time to explore other musical ideas.


My outline now looks like this:


-Theme

-Variation 1 (block chords)

-Variation 2 (Slurs as pull offs)

-Variation 3 (Embellished melody which modulates to parallel minor)

-Chromatic/improvisation section

-Variation 4 (Broken chords)

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page